Get A Quote Think A Trip

Know Odisha

Orissa officially spelled Odisha, is a state of India, located on the east coast of India, by the Bay of Bengal. It is the modern name of the ancient nation of Kalinga, which was invaded by the Maurya Emperor Ashoka in 261 BC. The modern state of Orissa was established on 1 April 1936, as a province in India, and consists predominantly of Oriya speakers. 1 April is therefore celebrated as Utkal Divas.

Cuttack remained the capital of the state for over many centuries until April 13, 1948 when Bhubaneswar was officially declared as the new capital of Orissa, replacing Cuttack. Bhubaneswar is the present capital.

The state of Orissa is situated between the geographical coordinates of 81.27'E and 87.29'East longitude and 17.49'N and 22.34'North latitude. The state occupies a total area of 155,707 square kilometers. It is bound on the east by the 450 kilometer coastline of the Bay of Bengal.

In the south, the state is bordered by Andhra Pradesh. The state of Madhya Pradesh lies to the west of Orissa while the West Bengal lies to the north. The state projects distinct yet homogeneous features of topography. With a blend of several physiographical features in Orissa, the state is divided into five morphological units.